Planets in Astrology

In a school full of art and philosophy, it’s no surprise that many of us are naturally drawn to astrology and other concrete explanations for abstract things. Astrology plays quite an important role in our lives; from the way we communicate with others right down to our intentions when we speak.

Today’s Topic: Planets

Coming Soon: Signs, Placements, and more…

    Pluto and Neptune are most often known as the planets that rule generations. Pluto stays in each zodiac for 15-25 years and is the planet of transformation. It is often used to predict political leanings of groups, natural tendencies toward authority, and an opposition or compliance to the status quo.

Neptune stays in each zodiac for about 14 years, just a little bit less than Pluto. It is the planet of dreams and subconscious, influencing the way our minds process information that isn’t concretely there.

Uranus is right on up with Pluto and Neptune, just shying 6-7 years in each zodiac. It’s the planet of rebellion, and often influences large sociopolitical movements. Uranus is likely to blame for every single generation’s distrust in the way the former generation handled rebellious matters. Generations become generally more radicalized over time and start to believe in the superiority of the way they envision their generation will handle matters close to their hearts.

Into slightly more personal placements, Saturn spends around 2 and a half years in each zodiac. Saturn is the planet of boundaries and responsibility, which also greatly influences priorities. In a current chart, Saturn influences potential political trends, such as laws, acts, and bills that are passed. In a natal chart, Saturn is often used to determine what people deem worthy of their time and effort.

Jupiter stays in each zodiac for a year; it’s the planet of growth, spirituality, and expansion. In a current chart, Jupiter influences how people go about their place in the world. It usually results in spiritual, cultural, religious, or societal trends. For example, many beliefs rooted in Hinduism and Buddhism have been popularized within the recent year or so. In a natal chart, it can show trends of a person’s beliefs and what they need in order to grow; alternatively, it can also influence a person’s mark on the world.

Mars spends about 6-7 weeks in each zodiac. Mars is the planet of action and energy, affecting the way people go about their responsibilities. In a current chart, Mars controls decision-making. In a natal chart, Mars most commonly determines the way you go about doing things: those with calmer zodiac placements tend to be very passive in their activity, whereas those with more aggressive zodiac placements tend to be very forward and determined. Personal placements such as Mars require a more specific analysis in order to determine exactly how it affects someone, which I will cover at a later date.

The Sun is the most commonly known placement – likely the one you’re most familiar with. The Sun spends around a month in each zodiac, and it is the planet of expression. In a current chart, the Sun represents how things are going as a whole. In a natal chart, it can represent the core of how a person thinks, believes, and behaves. It is widely (and falsely) considered to be the most important, but every placement speaks truth to something.

Venus spends around 3-4 weeks in each zodiac and is inarguably the most important sign to consider when pursuing a romantic relationship with someone. Venus is the planet of desire: think money, beauty, love. In a current chart, Venus influences values and desires of everyone around, usually highlighting what’s important to focus on for the time being. In a natal chart, Venus is the core of what a person longs for – they will search for the traits that are associated with the sign of this placement.

Mercury is the planet of communication, and it spends about 2-3 weeks in each zodiac sign. Every planet is important, but Mercury in particular deserves special attention, as it controls the way we go about our everyday lives. In a current chart, Mercury determines the core of what is talked about and the way in which it is approached. In a natal chart, Mercury influences the manner of someone’s communication, and is vital to understanding how they come across versus what their intentions are. 

“Mercury Retrograde” has become a household term, but few know exactly what it means. When viewed from the earth, if a planet appears to be moving backwards from its ordinary path, it is in retrograde. Many planets experience this phenomenon, but Mercury is most affected due to its sensitive nature as a communication tool. 

The Moon spends around 2.5 days in each zodiac and is the planet of emotions and family. In a current chart, the moon affects what people are feeling and how these feelings are expressed, especially toward familial matters. In a natal chart, the moon is essential to learning what is important to a person, and the lengths they would go to in order to get there.

Lastly, the ascendent placement. Rising signs are not planet placements, but rather the sign that was on the eastern horizon at the place and time of a person’s birth. Ascendent placements are usually the most important in a person’s chart, reflecting who they are and what their intentions are perceived as. Many people find that they relate much more to their rising sign than their traditional sun sign, and that’s likely because rising signs change around every 2 hours.

We have much more to learn about the planets and the stars in the sky, so check out this tab a time or two whenever you want to check in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s