Staff

We are a small team of talented students in a variety of different disciplines at the Mississippi School of the Arts. We love what we do, and we do it with passion. Here, we dare to RISE.

Maleigh Crespo

Editor-in-Chief & News/Opinion Editor

Maleigh is a senior literary and an iced coffee enthusiast. She enjoys writing nonfiction and poetry but hopes that her affliction for short fiction will one day subside. In her free time, she can be found scrolling through Pinterest or with her beloved cat, Manny.

Email: maleigh.crespo@msabrookhaven.org

Callie Matthews

Editor-in-Chief & Editor of “What’s Cooking with Callie”

Callie is a senior literary arts student from Meridian. She is an avid collector of novelty socks and plastic dinosaurs, and coffee helps her exist. Although she is still figuring out words, she enjoys writing about over-dramatic characters, favorite foods, and existence itself.

Email: callie.matthews@msabrookhaven.org

Addison Laird

Head of Multimedia

Addison Laird is a senior media at MSA who enjoys both video and photo editing.

Email: addison.laird@msabrookhaven.org

Josie Deaton

Entertainment Editor

Josie is a senior vocal from Tupelo, and she is 17 years old. She plans to keep readers up-to-date on all things pop culture, the newest Netflix shows, and the hottest hits, so she hopes you’ll check out the Entertainment section because you don’t want to miss it!

Email: josie.deaton@msabrookhaven.org

Stephyne Weathersby

Fashion Editor

Stephyne is a literary arts senior from Liberty, MS. She enjoys writing stories, poems, and essentially, anything that frees her mind. She finds true value in capturing life’s beautiful moments, and she loves learning more about her environment.

Email: stephyne.weathersby@msabrookhaven.org

Morgan Love

Managing Editor & Advice Columnist

Morgan Love is a senior literary from Jackson, Mississippi. She has a deep passion for literature and becoming a writer has empowered her to expand her perception and style.

Email: morgan.love@msabrookhaven.org

Abigail Troth

Health/Wellness Editor

Abigail Troth is a senior theatre from Pineville, Mississippi. Aside from loving writing, acting, singing, and reading, she loves to draw and is a huge DC Comics nerd! She is also a hardcore feminist and fights for human rights for all. Last but not least, she has a cat named Muffin that she loves to spend time with.

Email: abigail.troth@msabrookhaven.org

Brianna Cox

Managing Editor & Advice Columnist

Brianna Cox is a senior literary from Lumberton, Mississippi. She enjoys reading, listening to music, and spending time with her friends. Her favorite genres to read and write are romance, poetry, and femininity.

Email: brianna.cox@msabrookhaven.org

McLain Boyd

Student Life Editor

McLain Boyd is a senior Media Arts student who is passionate about film, food, theatre, & science. When he’s not filming or editing, McLain enjoys acting and volunteering with the Brookhaven Little Theatre. McLain also loves to share his insanely cute puppy (Ollie) with any MSA student who needs an instant dose of pure joy! 

Email: mclain.boyd@msabrookhaven.org

Matthew Cox

Editor of “Matthew at the Movies”

Matthew Cox is a senior media from DeSoto, MS. He loves movies: watching them, talking about them, and writing about them. He also likes punk music, books, musical theatre, and philosophy.

Email: matthew.cox@msabrookhaven.org

Mya Bell

Lead Photographer

Mya is a senior vocal student from Madison, MS. She loves people, singing, and laughing, but photography is her thing.

Email: jamya.bell@msabrookhaven.org

Micaiah Mayes

Multimedia Team & Host of “Mickey’s Clubhouse”

Mickey is a senior media from Greenville, MS. She loves taking pictures and getting information out to people.

Email: micaiah.mayes@msabrookhaven.org

MaryRhea Waterloo

Multimedia Team & Host of “A Minute with MaryRhea”

 MaryRhea is a senior visual from Brookhaven, Mississippi. She loves mixed media and abstract art. In her free time, she loves performing at The Brookhaven Little Theatre and being with her family.

Email: maryrhea.waterloo@msabrookhaven.org

Zoe Hart

Staff Cartoonist

Zoe Hart is a senior visual at MSA from Monticello, MS. They have been drawing their whole life and think they are rather funny, though that is debatable. 

Email: zoe.hart@msabrookhaven.org

Jaden Williams

Staff Cartoonist

Jaden is a senior visual from Harrison, MS. She is a Libra who enjoys doodling.

Email: jaden.williams@msabrookhaven.org

Angel Poole

Staff Cartoonist & Writer

Angel is a visual arts student from Newton, MS. She enjoys creating multiple forms of art and hanging out with friends on her freetime. Her favorite hobby is sleeping and drinking orange juice.

Email: angel.poole@msabrookhaven.org

Zayne Vance

Staff Writer

Zayne is a senior theatre from Ripley, Mississippi. He enjoys acting and spending time with friends. He encourages everyone to remember that their creativity, just like their talents, are endless.

Email: zayne.vance@msabrookhaven.org

Sydney Knotts

Staff Writer

Sydney is a junior literary arts student at MSA from Laurel, MS. She writes literature about widely neglected social issues, such as mental health and strives to tell the stories of those who feel unseen and misrepresented, as she wants to help reassure them that they are valid and valued.

Email: sydney.knotts@msabrookhaven.org

Taylor Lafayette

Staff Writer

Taylor is a junior literary at MSA. She currently resides in Bolivar County, or the Delta. She is an aspiring journalist and news reporter.

Email: taylor.lafayette@msabrookhaven.org

Kayla Braswell

Staff Writer

Kayla is a junior vocal at MSA from Holcomb, MS. She loves iced coffee and mystery novels. In her free time, she enjoys theatre and getting into a good movie or show on Netflix.

Email: kayla.braswell@msabrookhaven.org

Ethan “E” Dye

Staff Writer, Multimedia Team, & Host of “Hedgetown”

E is a junior visual from Ponotoc, Mississippi.  Their passions go from in depth conspiracy theories to loving cats, but being too annoyed by them to get one.

Email: ethan.dye@msabrookhaven.org

Lillian Denney

Staff Cartoonist & Writer

Lillian is a junior literary from Pearl River. She likes to write, draw, and play video games. She also enjoys basketball, in which she plays center or post player.

Email: lillian.denney@msabrookhaven.org

Katherine “Mick” Scroggins

Staff Cartoonist

Mick is a junior literary from Yazoo, MS. She’s a workaholic who loves video games and listening to metal.

Email: katherine.scroggins@msabrookhaven.org